About IDeA
IDeA flyer


Home / About IDeA / Organization


IDeA is an interdisciplinary research center in Frankfurt, Germany. It was founded in 2008 as part of the LOEWE initiative by the state of Hesse. It is a joint venture of the DIPF | Leibniz Institute for Research and Information in Education, the Goethe University Frankfurt, and the Sigmund Freud Institut.

The center is led by a scientific board. Prof. Dr. Florian Schmiedek is the director of the IDeA Center, the deputy scientific ccordinator is Prof. Dr. Mareike Kunter.

Members of the scientific board since 1.1.2015:

Prof. Dr. Sabine Andresen

Prof. Dr. Christian Fiebach

Prof. Dr. Marcus Hasselhorn

Prof. Dr. Eckhard Klieme

Prof. Dr. Mareike Kunter

Prof. Dr. Marianne Leuzinger-Bohleber

Prof. Dr. Florian Schmiedek

The coordination office and laboratories of the center are integrated in the DIPF | Leibniz Institute for Research and Information in Education. Susanne Boomkamp-Dahmen, managing director of the DIPF, is the head of the administrative services for the IDeA Center. Dr. Jeanette Ziehm is the head of the center’s coordination and Dr. Björn Rump manages the IDeA laboratories.

Research at the IDeA Center concentrates on three research domains. Each of these domains is led by two senior researchers.